Richards & Klein: The Nemesis Worm

Posted: August 2, 2011 in Fiction
Tags: , , , , , ,

Howdy folks. Well, it’s only a day and a half until Richards & Klein: Reality 36 hits the shelves in the UK, and the digital noosphere the world over! I am very excited. Americans have to wait until 30 August for the paper version, I’m afraid. That will be followed on 13 September by the audiobook.

Here’s a bit of a surprise for you. Reality 36 was not the first Richards & Klein case I wrote about. To pitch the idea to Angry Robot, I wrote a 20,000 word novella called The Nemesis Worm. In this story, Richards and Klein are forced to investigate a series of murders when the evidence seems to point firmly at Richards himself. And guess what? You can download it from this site . One day I’m sure it’ll be part of a Richards & Klein short story collection, until then, it’s available here for free as a simple word doc (WordPress doesn’t allow me to upload epub and PRC, sadly), and exclusively via Amazon for Kindle in the United States, also for nowt.

Why am I doing this? Partly because I want to promote Richards & Klein, mostly because I wrote it, and I always write things to be read.

This isn’t actually the first Richards & Klein case, where we join them in The Nemesis Worm, which takes place in the summer of 2129 just before the events described in Reality 36, they’ve been working together for a few years. I’m sure I’ll write about how they met in good time. Until then, and until the release of Reality 36 (this week THIS WEEK!), here’s a taster of the sort of adventures you can expect in the near future (and the 22nd century). I sincerely hope you enjoy it.

R&K The Nemesis Worm

Comments
  1. [...] right here on this blog, as well as a free novella featuring my characters Richards & Klein, here. Also, don’t miss out on my new Reality 36 page under the Richards & Klein section of the [...]

  2. [...] for April next year. If you want to sample the book you may do so below. You may also check out a free Richard & Klein novella at Guy Haley’s home page Haley’s Comment. I wonder if this is the first book out of Angry [...]

  3. [...] for publicity. Here is a sample from Reality 36. Here from Champion of Mars, here’s a free Richards & Klein short story. Here’s another free short, and another. There’s plenty on this site, I’ll be [...]

Leave a Reply

