Benny and the wolf

Posted: September 13, 2010 in Random wifflings
Tags: ,

We’re looking for a dog at the moment, and are considering a malamute. Breeders will hate me for saying this, but the easiest way to describe them to folk not in the know  is  like a big – make that enormous – husky, only totally different. Built for freighting power rather than speed, they can haul huge loads through terrible Arctic conditions.

Obviously, living outside Bath, I really need one. How else can I haul my whale carcasses back to my igloo?

Some of them get massive. Fortunately they love people, which is good, because they could easily eat you for lunch. We went to see a sled team yesterday, owned by Terry Bogue, in South Wales. His biggest dog is called Chief, a magnificent beast who’s been to Crufts six times and weighs in at 52 kilograms. When he stands on his hind paws, he’s as tall as I am. I’m not particularly tall, but still.

What’s the point of all this? Why do you care? So I have an excuse to show you these cool pictures of my two year-old walking a dog four times his weight…

That's a big dog, but trust me, it looks even more enormous in the flesh.

Benny and the wolf.

Did you know…?

Star Wars’ Chewbacca was inspired by George Lucas’ boyhood pet, Indiana, a malamute, who Lucas saw one day sitting in the front of his truck. Malamutes ‘talk’ more often than bark, making a noise not unlike Chewie, though they are nowhere near as handy at being starship mechanics and don’t carry laser crossbows. The dog also gave its name to Indiana Jones.

Comments
  1. Matt Keefe says:

    Haven’t you got a cat? I thought Mamelutes were known for their small animal prey responses?

Leave a Reply

