Happy Birthday, Jesus

Posted: December 14, 2010 in Journalism
Tags:

Man! It’s nearly Christmas. Christ! And mass… how did that happen so quickly? It’s my 38th. How many more left, I wonder?

Apologies, thoughts of mortality often dog me.

I’ve been working on my old professional ‘alma mater’ SFX for the last six weeks part-time, just like the ghost of Christmas past, only with Scrooge rolled in. I am actually old enough to legitimately say “It wasn’t like this in my day.” Terrifying.

I probably shouldn’t have done the work, I have no time, until this week I’d been working every night as well as during the day. One doesn’t like to turn work down when one is a freelancer, not at all.

I am tired. Puppy. Child. Work. Zzzzzzzzzzzz. But no! No zzzzzzzzzz for me.

It’s amazing how little sleep you can get by on. I feel better for slightly less (not when it’s four hours a night, no, that’s horrible) and not for the first time I find myself irritated with my teenage self, irrespective of the fact that teenagers need more sleep, he wasted so much bloody time. If he hadn’t, then maybe I’d have a bigger frigging house now, because I’d have chosen a better paying job. (Maybe I should let him off. I was technically crazy. Still am. Maybe I’ll write about that one day. I’m lactose intolerant too. I doubt I’ll write about that). Ah! Not only are our lives dictated by those who came before us, but by the us that came before us. The irony.

If I met me at 14 now, I’d kick my arse.

Actually, the rot started when I was eight, and I told my parents I was not going to memorise my times tables because that was homework and we don’t do homework until big school.

What a little wanker.

So I remain barely numerate, only slightly more literate, with a mind as disciplined as ball of hairy wool. It wasn’t all my fault. Thanks can also be given to the goddamned post-50s liberal, handwringing experiment that was comprehensive, streamless education. What I needed was a teacher kicking my arse, not teachers who let me get away with doing a bare minimum because they were too busy dealing with emotionally damaged thickos actually trying to kick their arses. Cheers for that.

What’s all this about? New Years resolutions. I only dally with one or two a year. What they are shifts a little, but always they come down to the same old thing.

“Must try harder.” Just like my school reports.

Now stop whining and get on with it.

Comments
  1. Matt Keefe says:

    My, my, this is all very damaged…

Leave a Reply

