Of mice and men

Posted: January 16, 2011 in Uncategorized
Tags: , ,

It’s been my intention to keep this blog up to date, I was quite determined not to let it bear digital witness to an inability to see things through. But I’ve had to scale my plans back. Alas my ambition to put much of my work up online has been stymied, and I can just about manage one post a fortnight. Work is the culprit. Talk to any freelancer, be they tinker, tailor or candlestick maker, and they’ll all say the same thing: you never feel you can turn work down. So I’ve been working on SFX for three months, have a magazine to edit it for them, have just finished the third Mantic Journal, am working on world-building for the same company, plus the usual proofing, reviews etc.
And I sold another book, details of which are to come, but I can say it’s with a good publisher, and is a far-future ‘planetary romance’ in a modern form.
It doesn’t help that I’m trying to get my house extended, and I’ve spent the last four days comforting a sweaty, feverish toddler who’s been waking up every hour through the night. Or that I bought that dog (Magnus is as big as a Labrador already. He’s only five months old. He’ll get his own page soon).
It’s a wonder I have any time to write at all, so I have to make it. Work progresses on Richards & Klein: Omega Point, and I’ve begun a short story about them too, one of four I have planned for the year. I’ve got enough work to keep me going now until September. Once March 11th comes, that’s it, just writing, no more magazine work… That will be bliss, as much as I enjoy working on SFX.
This statement will only remain true until someone offers me some more magazine work, of course. Making hay, shining suns, and so forth.

Leave a Reply

