I’m back!!!

Posted: March 15, 2011 in Fiction, Journalism
Tags: , , ,

Whoop! Hello chaps. I feel quite justified saying hello, you know. I know people read this, as I’m averaging around 30 hits a day on this blog, even when I don’t post anything. So, first up — thanks for reading, whoever and wherever you are.

If you wonder why the long radio silence, especially in light of my pompous pronouncements about not letting this thing wither on the vine, then I’ll tell you. I’ve been working on SFX for the last five months or so, initially  editing their news section while their editor was off on another project, leaving their deputy editor (and news editor) in charge. Editing the news was once my actual day job, you know. It was great to be back, like going home almost. And even better to be in an office where the conversation doesn’t just concern Thomas the pigging Tank Engine, or where the other people don’t throw enormous weepy fits when they don’t get their own way (well, not often). Please understand, I love my son and love spending time with him, but occasionally it’s nice to be able to concentrate on something for longer than three seconds.

After the news came SFX Special 49: Best of British 2011. This is the third SFX special edition I’ve edited, and although they’re damn hard work, it felt  good to be exercising all those editorial skills I spent years acquiring. But, all done now. See that in the shops 28 March. Buy it, so they give me more work.

Big news is the image to the left. This is the cover for my very first book, Richards & Klein: Reality 36. It’s out in August from Angry Robot. Exciting eh? It’s got a robot and a cyborg with a gun on it, and that tells you the single most important thing about the book: IT’S FUN! I’m notoriously, whingeingly self-critical, despite my superior air and northern bluster, but I’m pretty happy with it. (It’s also got a detective story, a great world, cool characters… but I reiterate: FUN! and may I also say EXCITING!)

It’s a mark of how busy I was at SFX, actually, that although this cover was finished weeks ago, I’ve not had the time to blog about it.

Work also proceeds apace on the cover of my Solaris novel, Champion of Mars. I’ve seen the rough, and by God it looks amazing. I can’t wait to put that up here. I’m going to get a print of it to hang on my office wall. That’s when I get an office, it’s not hopeful right now, but that’s a story for another day.

I’ll be working on the second draft of my first Black Library novel, Baneblade for the next few weeks, but I’ll also be blogging here and posting some of my other work on the site regularly. My next magazine job is a ways off now, so it’s writing all the way (and dog walking. I should get round to putting a page up for Magnus actually, he’s getting big…)

See you around.

Leave a Reply

