Being the Bulldog

Posted: March 28, 2011 in Fiction, Journalism, Random wifflings
Tags: , , , , , ,

 

This is the cover...

This here is the latest magazine I’ve edited; SFX Special 49: Best of British SF Television 2011 (that doesn’t mean it’s just stuff from 2011, it’s just because it’s out this year. A bit of a mouthful, I’ll grant you). This is the third such special I’ve edited, the others being one on Lost, and one called Ultimate Fantasy which was only the third or fourth they’d done, so that was way back. In fact, it was the first full-sized magazine I edited on my own. That was when I was still in my twenties, which is now a depressingly long time ago, so forgive me if I do not dwell upon it.

 

This latest is full of stuff about British Television, as you’d expect, and includes a double-sided poster (Misfits and an exclusive new Doctor Who image — if you squint you might be able to make it out on the wallet image below), Red Dwarf car sticker and Primeval mug mats.

Here’s the publicity blurb wot I wrote:

What-ho! Our next special celebrates all that is great about British genre television – past and present. We’ve oodles of hot new features about all your favourite, current shows including exclusive news about Misfits season 3, Toby Whithouse’s fave Being Human moments, top FX secrets from The Mill and Torchwood chat from Russell T Davies. PLUS there’s a myriad of delightful features on all things retro, including behind the scenes peeks at Gerry Anderson’s series, the top ten best British SF telly of all time, and the definitive history of Doctor Who! Join us for Merlin, Bedlam, Red Dwarf, Blake’s 7, Triffids, Tripods and atomic bombs besides, all in one action packed magazine.

We say: Rule Britannia, Britannia rules the airwaves! Toodle-pip now.

...and this is the wallet the magazine and gifts come in.

It’s £7.99, available from all good high street news outlets and Future’s own website. Go out and buy it now, so I can have more work and not starve to death. Ta.

Other news

Is it really news? Should I think of something else? Do you really care? No matter. Today, I made dog treats out of last year’s pig’s liver for my enormous dog. He is now the size of a wolf, and is in training not to eat my family (Monday nights in Wookey  Hole, which is appropriate given the Malamute/Chewbacca connection). I’ll be getting a new pig on 11th April. Bar a couple of trotters and some ham I have curing in the attic, I have finished eating the last. Expect more grisly pictures later in the year.

I’ve also nearly completed work on Baneblade, my first effort for The Black Library. Writing spin-off fiction is a lot harder than I thought it would be, I have to say. Next week, I continue Richards & Klein: Omega Point in earnest. Meanwhile, I dream of the massive shed I am going to build in my garden to work in, and try not to waste the day away playing Total War: Shogun 2. So there you go.

Comments
  1. cerebus660 says:

    Looks spiffing, old bean! I will send my man to purchase a copy, once he’s ironed my sideburns and polished the gargoyles in the west wing…
    Pip pip!

Leave a Reply

