First review of Reality 36!

Posted: July 20, 2011 in Fiction
Tags: , , , , ,

And it’s a doozy, as they say on the other side of The Pond, which is where I believe this gentlemen reviewer hails from (there’s a big piccy of the Whitehouse on his blog!). Here’s a quote:

Guy Haley has really produced a first-rate robot novel.  While Robopocalypse is this year’s hottest robot release and will assuredly sell more copies, I think Reality 36 is a superior novel in almost every way.

Now that’s not bad. Actually, this is the second review of Reality 36 I’ve read, but the other is SFX’s, and hasn’t been published yet. It is also positive. The fear is receding.

Both interestingly mention the book’s cliffhanger, which is “brutal” as Staffer’s Musings has it. This was a risk on my part – there just wasn’t enough space in the word count to tell the story I wanted to. Staffer (he’s anonymous as far as I can work it out) says he was expecting the books to be a bit like a TV series, with self-contained episodes, and that this is like the season cliffhanger. He’s a perceptive one, as I actually had a TV series model in mind for the books (Jim Butcher’s Harry Dresden stories are another pattern I consciously followed) so you can consider this part one of the special two-part opening story! If more get picked up, and I really hope they will, then most of them will be standalone tales.

You can read the review here. If the chap’s amenable, I’ll be putting the whole thing up on this site at some point.

Finally, if that’s all not enough, go here on the Angry Robot website for a sneak preview of Reality 36. The first few chapters are there for the reading.

 

Comments
  1. I’m awaiting the ‘2nd Review of Reality 36’ post 🙂

  2. Mim says:

    I love the Harry Dresden books. I’m really looking forward to your book.

  3. Justin says:

    Hardly anonymous! I am Justin Landon, American reviewer who spells theatre like a Brit. I definitely hope you get more picked up. I think we need more of Dresden type serials out there. Too much of the SFF genre is either epic series or stand-alone. Best of luck!

    • guyhaley says:

      Ah. Sorry Justin, I didn’t see your actual name on the blog, nor on your Twitter feed. I thought you might work for the CIA or something and need to keep quiet about who you are. 🙂

  4. Laura Davis says:

    I’ve just finished my ARC of Reality 36, and you can look for a glowing review from me on release date. I’d just purchased a copy of Robocalypse when I received your ARC. I’ll get to reading it eventually! 😀 Now, please go write faster, so I can read the next book sooner!

    • Laura Davis says:

      I’m also recommending Reality 36 as a future read for the Geek Girls’ Book Club.

    • guyhaley says:

      Wow! Thanks for that. I’m glad you liked it. You’re the first lady reviewer to read it, and I was a bit unsure if my female characters worked, plus you’re actually from LA, so I mustn’t have made any howling errors in the segment set there ; )

      Which release date are we talking about here? UK or US? I’m looking forward to your review!

      I am finishing Omega Point off this very week, don’t worry.

      • Laura Davis says:

        U.S. release date: August 4. When is/was the U.K. release?

        I may not be the typical female reader, market-wide, but I am fairly typical of the type of women who read sci-fi. I find the Valdaire character rings very true to the “CalTech woman” type. She’s scary-smart and not afraid to take charge in her own environment, yet she retains her idealism. She’s unsure of herself outside of the walls of academia, but hell if she’s going to show it. I think she’s just right!

        As for any “mistakes” in the Los Angeles segment, honestly, the things that might have come off as wrong in a contemporary setting worked just fine in a post-apocalyptic world. I laughed out loud the first time I read that UCLA had moved to Chino Hills. Angelenos tend to snicker at the mention of Chino, while Westwood, of course, is one of our shining gems. It makes perfect sense, given a large-scale water incursion, and, again, it worked, but it was a definite brain bend.

        Keep up the great work! Wishing you huge success!

      • guyhaley says:

        Thanks for that! I’ve been to LA several times and tried to imagine how large scale environmental and political change might affect it. Glad I didn’t mess up!

        UK paper release date is 4th August. Ebook is out worldwide then. US paperback is out in September.

  5. Laura Davis says:

    Oops, I guess I got the info wrong when I received the ARC. It just said “release date 8/4/2011.” Well, since U.S. readers will be able to buy digital copies next week, I’ll go ahead and put the reviews out then. I’ll send you link when they are up. May I quote your remark about L.A., “I’ve been to LA several times and tried to imagine how large scale environmental and political change might affect it.”? Examiner.com prefers it if I include some “local” content, even if it is only a small tangent.

Leave a Reply

