Salute 2013

Posted: April 19, 2013 in Uncategorized
Tags: , , ,

I’ll be at Salute tomorrow along with Graham McNeill and John French for the Black Library, where I’ll be signing copies of Baneblade. If you fancy a chat, or want to throw a few coppers in my tin cup while I dance a desperate little jig for your entertainment, please come along to the trade stand, which bears the code TC10. This will make sense if you have a map, otherwise it’s meaningless, so get a map off the site, go on, get it! Space is tight, apparently, so I won’t be sat there all day, and I don’t think John would want me to perch on his knee (although if I give Graham a drink, he might let me), but I will be wandering around the event for the full seven hours. Watch out for me, I’m the vaguely gobliny character, who’ll no doubt be glassy-eyed with consumerist lust for all the shiny toys…

See, Salute’s this massive wargaming fair in London. It’s being held at ExCel in the docklands, somewhere I’ve not been for years. Being a thorough wargames nerd (to the very CORE – seriously, it’s literally written into my genes. My father is a wargamer and a toy soldier dealer. See? Genetic), attending Salute has been something I’ve wanted to do for ages. That I haven’t so far is simply for fear of the obscene amount of money I might spend on tiny toy men. Because, if there’s one thing I love more than beer, money, extreme bog snorkelling and… Well, that thing all men love, it’s tiny soldiers. I’m steeling myself right now against the temptations that will no doubt assail me. I might even put a mousetrap in my wallet. I don’t think it’s going to stop me though.

Whatever happens, my wife will probably kill me when I get back.

This is better than Christmas.

Leave a Reply

