Orks, orks, orks

Posted: December 12, 2013 in Gaming
Tags: , , , ,

I’m writing about [REDACTED BY INQUISTORIAL ORDER] at the moment, and that’s got me all fired up, so I painted this Ork Battlewagon. This is my first Warhammer 40,000 model since the spring, as I’ve been painting and playing The Hobbit/The Lord of the Rings Strategy Battle Game this year almost exclusively. I just realised, I go through a phase every year where I paint a ton of Orks over winter. Must be the long nights or something. Last winter/spring it was Deffkoptas, a Dakkajet, and a bunch of nobs. Next I plan to do a Forgeworld anti-aircraft gun and some Ork barricades (I got them just before they were discontinued. I even had to ring around the local stores to see if they had any left) to be a defence line fortification.

I doubt I’ll get to play with this battlewagon for a while, as my Ork army is so big it’s difficult to get it to my gaming club (it’s in a pub up the hill. I walk there, so I can drink). Heck, even 1500 points means a lot of carrying. It’ll definitely get an outing next time I fight Jes Bickham’s Tyranids.

This is my second painted battlewagon. I have two Forgeworld models (they used to sell the bottom half of their current Battlefortress as a Battlewagon, before the plastic kit was available). The second FW Battlewagon I’ve had a shameful ten years or so, having received it as payment for an article that featured my (then much smaller) Speed Freeks article in White Dwarf some time before I was editor. I better paint it really. It’s been converted in three different ways over those years, but is currently covered in big guns borrowed from the plastic kit, and will probably stay that way.

Battlewagon

It’s not a brilliant photograph, and I have yet to paint the crew, but I thought I’d share.

Comments
  1. redfox4242 says:

    It looks awesome! Well done! 🙂

  2. ethanreilly says:

    Good one Guy – looks top-notch!

Leave a Reply

