Two new games

Posted: October 1, 2014 in Gaming, Journalism, Mantic
Tags: ,

I started my writing career as a staffer on SFX magazine. I don’t do much journalistic work any more, but I still review books, games and films for SFX pretty much every month. These are provided for me for free, and that can outweigh the modest (but still very welcome) fee I get for writing the actual piece. Sometimes, I get a freebie bonanza.

In September, I was lucky enough to receive for review both Mantic’s Mars Attacks Miniatures Game – based on the Topps trading cards – and Golem Arcana by HBS, which has its own original, proprietory background.3753.1.368.368.FFFFFF.0 I won’t reveal what I thought here, because otherwise what is SFX paying me for? You’ll have to read SFX #254 and SFX #255. But I thought I’d bring them to your attention. Go and check them out by clicking on their names above.

Both were funded through Kickstarter, and that’s very interesting. I see a lot of games drumming up support through that site. Some succeed, some fail. Some get made and aren’t all that great, but at least they all get a chance. We’re living in a golden age of model gaming, and Kickstarter is part of the reason why.

 

Leave a Reply

