A little bit of hobby: Anglo-Danish warriors

Posted: March 19, 2015 in Gaming
Tags: , , , ,

IMG_2767

Here’s some likely lads, English warriors out for blood. These are Gripping Beast models for my Saga games. With these chaps completed, I now have enough painted models for a full six-point, Anglo-Danish warband. Go me.

These are done to a slightly lower standard than the likes of Erestor. Partly because on historical miniatures the detail is rarely quite so crisp as that on GW models, so it’s more difficult to be precise. On saying that, I can’t abide to paint a model poorly (by my own standards, I hasten to add).

The great thing about these guys is that they took me about seven hours to paint all told. Compare that with the ten hours it took to assemble and paint one Black Templars Sword Brother. There’s a sense of satisfaction to be had in painting one very fine model, and a different one in finishing a whole bunch of toy soldiers off in one go.

Comments
  1. Gav Thorpe says:

    And they could be a complete warband for Open Combat 😉

  2. guyhaley says:

    Four dudes? Why have four when you can have forty? I really should get round to having a go at OC. I trust your game-designer’s opinion on its awesomeness.

Leave a Reply

