Two little bits of hobby

Posted: April 28, 2015 in Gaming
Tags: , , ,

Today I have TWO little bits of hobby for you. Glorfindel the elf for my Lord of the Rings Strategy Battle Game army, and an orc drummer for the same game. Different side, obviously.

IMG_2891

IMG_2892

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I painted Glorfindel the weekend before last. I’m fairly pleased with this paint job, but the amazing quality of the sculpting on this particular model made it very easy to accomplish.

The orc I’m less pleased with. This is actually the second time I’ve painted this figure. It was the first model I painted in my new house last summer. The initial paint job was better, but sadly ruined by the spray varnish I used and I had to strip it. This is despite me following the instructions exactly. I was so miffed that I’ve stopped using spray varnish of any kind. I’ve always given my models a coat of Winsor and Newton matte artists varnish to take the shine out of the sprays I did use. Now this and this alone stands between my hard work and over eager, scrabbling fingers energised by gaming adrenaline, but it’s better than nothing and doesn’t shag up the paint job.

Glorfindel is an interesting character in The Lord of the Rings mythos. All of Tolkien’s elves have unique names. But he accidentally used the name Glorfindel twice, once for a First Age Elf killed at the fall of Gondolin fighting Gothmog, chief of the Balrogs, and the one that lives in Rivendell at the end of the Third Age. In Tolkien’s notes he suggested perhaps that they were one and the same, the original Glorfindel having being reincarnated by the Valar. However, Tolkien died before he could make his mind up. I prefer this never implemented explanation.

Leave a Reply

