Da return of Magteef!

Posted: September 12, 2015 in Gaming, Random wifflings
Tags: ,

He’s blue, he’s got a big gun, he’s a surprisingly accurate shot – Magteef the Mek is back in business!

Right, sure, all that means nothing to you, but something to me. Magteef was a mekboy in my second edition 40k army twenty-odd years ago. He was a renowned tinkerer and – being a Deathskull – pilferer of technological trinkets.

IMG_3151

Old Magteef. His original gun is gone as I was going to reuse it, but it looked ridiculously old skool once attached to the new model so I made a new one. Also: back banners – so in fashion back then.

Last year, I decided to remake the old boy. I undercoated him and that was that. He got a rare outing in a recent game, where he helped bag an Eldar war walker. At the urging of my pal and opponent Ste, I gave him a lick of paint. Here he is.

IMG_3152

New Magteef. The paint job’s not my best. I ran through the last of my Knarloc Green (the best orc shade ever) painting AoS Uruks, so I was forced to experiment with a new greenskin technique. It didn’t quite work out. Ah well.

Magteef is wearing a variety of tools from the original plastic battlewagon, released in the late 80s. On his back he sports a white metal welding torch scavenged from a 2000s Gorkamorka Spanner. His gun is a one million gigawatt kustom blasta made from a plastic big shoota and rokkit launcher. His head is a metal alternative from some kit or other, or it might be a plastic spare from the Lootas set, I honestly don’t remember. He is ably assisted by a vintage Grot (still available on the webstore) equipped with a bag full of oil squigs. For reasons best known to himself, Magteef’s bionic eye and blue face paint have switched sides. He is an Ork, so he probably forgot where they were supposed to be.

If you’ve ever read Skarsnik, Engine of Mork, Evil Sun Rising, or listened to the audio The Klaw of Mork, you’ll know that I love greenskins. I’ve never played a lot of connected games or campaigns, but I always used to name my prominent characters and build stories around them. As in this case, they’re stories that can persist for decades. That’s a huge part of the hobby for me, is it for you?

Leave a Reply

