Champion of Mars, 99p!

Posted: September 17, 2015 in Fiction
Tags: , , ,

81FWmsjEISL._SL1500_

This is a golden age for reading. Book lovers have access to masses of stories in multiple formats at excellent prices, instantly available upon purchase more often than not.

Is it a great time to be a writer though? There are those who say it is, and there are those who say that it is certainly not. As I’ve said before, the truth of it is somewhere in the middle –  easier than ever to become a writer, harder once you are to be successful. In real terms I don’t suppose the odds have changed much.

A common conception is that once you have that publishing deal, that’s that. Win! A Malibu beachhouse awaits! In reality it’s just the beginning. The hard part is getting noticed, and that is where I’ve been struggling. My original fiction has not sold satisfactorily, despite being well received. Is it my name, which is all at once weak sounding, all vowels and soft consonants, too masculine (Guy) but also confusingly feminine (Haley)? Do I choose subjects that don’t appeal? Are the plots too complex, too simple, too dull? Are the covers bad? Are the books indeed just rubbish? This latter tortures many a writer in the night, believe me.

I have a sneaking hunch it might have something to do with the fact that in the course of one month dozens of genre books are published in English alone. Your precious novel is an ant in a giant tsunami of ants bearing down on a solitary aardvark who has only recently eaten.

I try not to dwell on this too negatively, but examine what meagre information I have to plot how I can do better. That is, after all, the only way to succeed. To that end I’d like to draw your attention to the reissue of Champion of Mars, out on Kindle with a brand new cover shamelessly designed to appeal to fans of The Martian, and I have no problem with that. The unsuccessful John Carter of Mars movie probably didn’t help this book, perhaps the surefire hit The Martian will?

Better than the cover is the price, for Champion of Mars is currently available for a mere 99p, or equivalent, from Amazon (UK, US and others). If you’ve not read my original fiction Champion of Mars gives good flavour of it. I like to think it’s a pretty good novel, and I offer these reviews on Goodreads in support of my claim. There’s more about the book on this page.

If you do enjoy it, do me a favour, tell your friends and rate it online. Word of mouth remains the single best way to get noticed. If you don’t like it, I invite you to do the same. Fair’s fair.

Advertisements
Comments
  1. Kevin Hasty says:

    Bought! You’re one of my favorite BL authors and I want to support that!

  2. Jimmy Carmine says:

    Bought, and links shared on the the social media channels, not that I have much reach but hopefully every little helps.

  3. Kevin Mantle says:

    Bought it new in paperback. And Crash! And kept all the Death Rays!!

  4. bittermanandy says:

    I really enjoyed Champion of Mars. I think it turned my brain inside out, but it was good.

    I hope it is fair to assume the BL label gives your stuff for them something of a boost by comparison?

    • guyhaley says:

      When people buy a BL book, they’re buying it because it is a BL book, not because it is a Guy Haley book. It’s not a boost, as such at all. The book sells what it will based on the faction and setting more than anything. I’m sure some BL authors’ names help sell more books, but it’s not a case of the BL brand boosting the work of the writer. Generally (although not entirely), I think the writer in fiction like that is not a deciding factor for the reader.

  5. ediFanoB says:

    I receive the Rebellion Publishing newsletter and in the latest issue I found the information about the special offer of “Champions of Mars”. As a fan of “The Martian” by Andy Weir, I did not hesitate and bought a copy of your book.
    After that I shared the information about the “Champions of Mars” on Twitter and furthermore I shared the information with the reader of my blog.

    I agree with you that the price is an important factor to raise attention. Of course I have been attracted by the price too. But much more important for my was the newsletter mentioning your book.

    Now I hope that my little mouth to mouth propaganda will help to spread word about “Champion of Mars” .

  6. jonathangreen says:

    I told the entirety of the Sci-Fi Weekender a couple of years ago that they should read Champions of Mars. I’ve just told Twitter too.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s