Pharos out now!

Posted: February 22, 2016 in Fiction, The Black Library
Tags: , ,

Pharos

Whoop! Uncork the fermented grape juice with bubbles, and imbibe! Pharos, my first, full-length Horus Heresy book is now out in hardback, ebook, and audiobook. The listen-with-your-ears version runs to 13 hours. Wow. Okay, the length is not unusual, but when I see audio running times in black and white it begs the question:  if it takes that long to read a book out loud, how long do you think the things take to write, eh? AGES, that’s how long.

Here’s the blurb.

With the noble Emperor Sanguinius ruling from Macragge, Imperium Secundus stands as a lone beacon of hope even as the Warmaster’s forces continue to ravage the rest of the galaxy. Roboute Guilliman, still Master of Ultramar, has convinced his brother that Terra has fallen and that the mysterious Mount Pharos on Sotha now holds the key to mankind’s future. But the Night Lords, those cruel and pitiless sons of Konrad Curze, have been watching from the shadows, and make ready to launch their long-planned attack on the Pharos itself…

I felt privileged to be asked to write Pharos. A tough book, because the Horus Heresy is Games Workshop’s best-selling novel range, and written by so many talented writers before me. Pharos also moves the story of the Heresy on a fair bit, so not only is it a book in brilliant series, it’s a pivotal book in a brilliant series. I was actually bricking it all the way through that I was going to screw it up. However, the I’m proud of the end result, and comments back from folks who bought the pre-release ebook on Christmas day have been overwhelmingly positive. Thanks for that.

Pharos came out on Saturday. If I were a more diligent author with my marketing noggin screwed firmly on, then I’d have been blaring loud on the internets about this then. But I have a kid who I was looking after solo all weekend, and a kid moreover that I was playing Helldivers with (for the hour I wasn’t run ragged, cooking, cleaning, ferrying etc.), so sorry if you missed the news, I was killing aliens.

If you’ve any questions about Pharos, ask me here or use the “Ask the Author” feature on my Goodreads page. I will answer them, I promise.

 

Comments
  1. Banhammer says:

    I’ll get mine on the weekend, a good reason to leave the house. 🙂

  2. morvael says:

    I bought the ebook as soon as it was out, and it turned out to be great read. Best in the series for a long time (last few I enjoyed on similar level before were Scars, Betrayer, and Know No Fear). Great job!

    Is Pharos a Necron device?

Leave a Reply

