A little bit of hobby: more Age of Sigmar

Posted: March 11, 2016 in Gaming
Tags: , ,

I’m still playing and enjoying Age of Sigmar. I’m not quite used to the tactical niceties of it yet, I’m talking about things like optimal unit size for my Orruks and how to use the various mobs in conjunction with each other. One of the things I like so much about the game is the more organic feel the unit formations have. You can have a line of choppa armed Orruks backed up by two lines of spear orruks, employ skirmish screens of archers or embed your larger creatures in less powerful units. Sounds ridiculous to say in a game about dragons and such, but it feels more realistic not having this absolute separation of units from one another (although I still wish you could merge different groups together). I have also learned the hard way that a handful of Fyreslayers are more than a match for nearly one hundred Orruks, especially if you feed them one unit at a time like an arse.

We played The Watchtower on Tuesday night, with some hastily concocted homebrew rules to more adequately reflect the solid, stone built nature of the Mighty Fortress tower we were using, including wounds for the building, and the need to break down a reinforced door before the units inside could be attacked. My Orruks were pounded, but not before slaying my good buddy Steve’s Magmadroth. Finally. After it ate most of my army. But I still win, morally.

Here are some pictures.

IMG_3101

The Orruk battleline. I’ve added my old spear chukkas to the army, and painted some more boys. Slowly getting there in terms of the grey plastic to paint ratio.

img_3102

Orruks supporting my giant. Of course, like a knob I separated them, didn’t I?

IMG_3104

Waaaagh! Etc. I do actually shout this, as someone I know recently commented on the internet.

img_3105

Watch out boys, naked, unpainted dwarfs! The worst kind of nakedness.

 

Comments
  1. Your green to grey ratio is definitely looking positive!

  2. Peter Smith says:

    Re: the last pic.

    No, the worst kind of nakedness would be if that tower was strategically placed to cover the player in the background!

Leave a Reply

