The Emperor’s Railroad OUT NOW!

Posted: April 19, 2016 in Fiction
Tags: , , ,

Haley_EmperorsRailroad_cover1

I’m breaking radio silence briefly today to announce the release of The Emperor’s Railroad, the first in my brand, spanking new series of novellas from Tor.com.

Here’s the blurb:

Global war devastated the environment, a plague of the dead wiped out much of humanity, and civilization as we once understood it came to a standstill. But that was a thousand years ago, and the world is now a very different place.

Conflict between city states is constant, superstition is rife, and machine relics, mutant creatures and resurrected prehistoric beasts trouble the land. Watching over all are the silent Dreaming Cities. Homes of the angels, bastion outposts of heaven on Earth. Or so the church claims. Very few go in, and nobody ever comes out.

Until now…

I’ve put a lot into the world building here and there is a whole lot of adventure as well as zombies, gun-slingers, and more! There is literally something for everyone in this. If you like cross-genre, you’ll dig it. Promise.

Best of all, the ebook version is less than two pounds (audio and paperback are also available). Part two, The Ghoul King, is out in July. US readers, check out The Emperor’s Railroad at your Amazon store.  Naturally, citizens of any nation can head over to the book’s page at Tor.com where a variety of formats may be purchased.

There are already several, mostly positive reviews up at Goodreads. To further whet your appetite, here’s a snippet from Publisher’s Weekly, who rather enjoyed it…

“Haley serves up equal helpings of horror, fantasy adventure, and SF in this stark, intriguing story of a ruined Earth where the remaining humans are determined to survive.”

I will of course be answering questions on the book here and on my Goodreads profile, so if you’ve any questions, ask away. I will answer.

Eagle-eyed sorts (actually, anyone with basic sparrow eyes can spot it) will have noticed I’ve not been very present on the net these last six weeks. This is because I’ve had a very hectic period that is still ongoing. Once it is over, normal service will resume. Thank you.

Comments
  1. Michel Lowe says:

    Just finished Emperor’s Railroad. Excellent! Love the mash up of post-apocalypse/knight errant/zombies/future tech. Did I miss anything? I lived 27 years in Virginia, drove cross country thru Charleston, WV many times. (I’ve also done the northern route through Wheeling and, yes, Columbus on my treks to/from St. Louis where I live now.)

    I’ve got to ask: how does a Brit from Somerset come to write about next millennium West Virginia? Do you have a connection to the Mountain State and/or the Old Dominion or did you just grab it off Google Maps?

    -Michel

    • guyhaley says:

      Hi Michel, thanks for your message.

      I chose West Virginia because it represents a transition between the Eastern seaboard and central US landscapes. Quinn’s already some way into his journey from the city of Atlantis when we meet him, and this story represents something of a turning point for him. Charleston of the future is a frontier town in many respects.

      It was also important to me that this future makes sense. The cities and kingdoms have to be able to trade and so on. I wanted an area where the Mississippi river system starts to get big enough to carry large barges. In this future, most travel and communications are done along the rivers, as it was in the 19th century – and the Kanawha fit the bill.

      If I’m truthful, part of it was down to confusion on my part between Charleston, South Carolina and Charleston, West Virginia, but once I did my research it all came together quite nicely.

      I’ve no recent connection with the US, and have never been to that part of the the States, in case you were wondering. I’ll have to visit for real some day! Also, I’m from Yorkshire, and I moved back here two year ago. I lived in Somerset for 15 of the last 20 years though. I must update my profile…

      Google maps proved invaluable to me in telling Quinn’s story. I actually “walked” much of the route using streetview.

      Kind regards,

      Guy

  2. Fiore says:

    I just finished this. What an excellent story! Beautifully written and a very distinctive and well-realised setting. Can’t wait to see what happens next.

Leave a Reply

