Out now: The Ghoul King

Posted: July 15, 2016 in Fiction
Tags: , ,

ghoulking-largeOut this week is book two of the Dreaming Cities trilogy, The Ghoul King.

In a dark, post-apocalyptic future, mysterious angels rule the shattered North American continent in the name of the Lord.

The Knight, Quinn, is down on his luck, and he travels to the very edge of the civilized world – whatever that means any more – to restock his small but essential inventory.

After fighting a series of gladiatorial bouts against the dead, he finds himself in the employ of a woman on a quest to find the secret to repairing her semi-functional machine.

But the technological secret it guards may be one truth too many.

The Ghoul King is out from Tor.com Publishing, where it is available as a paperback and DRM-free ebook in all formats. You can also buy it from all your favourite vendors. Here’s the link for the first part, The Emperor’s Railroad.

The books are a novella series conceived to be akin to a TV serial, with each one being an “episode”. They’re each self-contained, but build a big story. Quinn’s reality features my characteristic deep world building. I believe a good SF/fantasy story should introduce you to a living, breathing world through its characters. I’m not a fan of worlds dominated by a big idea, which beyond being hosts for a single parasitic meme, don’t have a life of their own. I like settings that make you feel if you took a right turn off the page and wandered about, they would appear real. “Whole cloth” worlds, I call ’em. It’s what I strive for.

But good drama is powered as much by revelation as by character, so in each episode of Quinn’s adventures there’ll be some substantial information about the Dreaming Cities. I promise, eventually, you’ll know exactly why Quinn’s world is the way it is…

Comments
  1. Riki Monet says:

    Just finished The Ghoul King an hour or two ago. Holy moly! I’m really loving this book series and I feel unable to stop thinking about it. I really love the way the story is told, through recollections from others in awe of Quinn. It makes it very very easy to develop a bit of a hero worship crush for him. When it comes down to it, the guy is just a badass. Every time he gets out of an incredibly terrifying situation I can’t help but feel excitement and exhilaration.
    I read The Emperor’s railroad last Monday, and the book left a huge impact on me. The moment I saw it at the library I felt drawn to it, and I’m glad more than ever that I listened to my instincts and read it. This story has gripped its hooks in me, and it’s even gone so far that I’m dreaming of certain events from the book, and dreaming about Abney, Quinn and Abney’s mother traveling in general. I tend to hyperfixate on things every few months or so, but it feels like ages since I’ve been able to really obsess and geek out over a book series like this. My brother and Mom and probably super tired of hearing me talk about it, but this is such a phenomenal series I can’t help it.

    I’m ordering the books online ASAP, I love this series beyond belief and I’m a bit sad that no one else seems to be talking about it or aware of it. Can’t wait to see what’s coming next, and I’m incredibly eager to learn more of the truth about the Angels and the Dreaming Cities, not to mention how excited I am to see Quinn kick some more ghoul and undead butt.

    Anyways, thanks for writing these books, as they make me happy beyond belief. I feel like the biggest fan of these books, I’ve already had the urge to draw up some fanart.

    I’m hyped for the sequels. I very much look forward to reading them when they come out

    • guyhaley says:

      Thank you, that is really nice to know. I am glad they have had such an impact on you. I hope to be writing the sequels in one form or another at some point over the next year.

Leave a Reply

