In the grim darkness of the far future, there are a lot of novels

Posted: July 18, 2016 in Fiction, Random wifflings, Richards & Klein, The Black Templars

Brexit had me hiding from social media these last few weeks. It’s precisely the sort of complicated issue that is impossible to discuss on the confirmation bias machine that is the modern web, so I’ve steered well clear. Potted version of my opinion runs thusly – I can see both sides of the argument, and although I was shocked and very saddened by the result, it won’t be the end of the world. Life goes on.

And so moving on. Commercial necessity brought me down from my ivory tower (well, it looks like an ivory tower, but it’s constructed from papier-mache made of the torn up drafts of rejected stories and the glue of scorn) with the release of The Ghoul King last week. I thought maybe it would be a good time to talk about what’s coming soon.

Last month I went to Nottingham to visit Black Library and discuss my schedule for the next couple of years. The upshot of this is that I’ll be writing plenty for them throughout 2016-2017, including a fair bit of Horus Heresy. We made some further, tentative plans for 2018. If you like my Warhammer stuff, you should be happy. I’ve finished Dante, and am literally about to start typing my next project for them today.

Coming out from BL over the next few months are Shadowsword, the sequel to Baneblade. Crusaders of Dorn collects all my Black Templars fiction thus far except The Eternal Crusader. It includes a text version of my audio drama “The Glorious Tomb” and a brand new story, “The Uncanny Crusade”. And of course there’s The Beheading, the Terra-shaking conclusion to The Beast Arises.

In not-Games Workshop land, I’ve three short stories coming out in anthologies; one which I don’t think I can talk about yet. The second is “The Reckoning”, a mythos-slanted take on Christopher Marlowe’s death for Jonathan Green’s Shakespeare versus Cthulhu.

The third should make a few of you happy. I can reveal that I’m finally writing another Richards & Klein story (though this is more Richards than Klein), which will be actually published in an actual book. I did start a novella for self-publishing purposes, but I’ve been held back by my massively packed schedule and a narrative problem – to advance the story, I need to write about what happened to Klein’s wife, which needs a novel, and the novella wasn’t about that so there was an odd jump in the story and well, you know. Time, never enough time. The novella stalled. I will get back on it at some point.

I’m also writing another top-secret fantasy book which I can say nothing about, and finally, I’ve been working on a collaboration with a certain other SF author. We’re close to getting that to publishers, so will announce it when there’s something concrete to say.

 

Comments
  1. Peter Smith says:

    Glad to hear you’re going to be contributing more to The Horus Heresy.

    My favourite phrase in your whole post is “the glue of scorn”. I’d love to see a story built around that – perhaps about a Night Lord who renders down foes he deems unworthy of use beyond adhesive. You could even start a series – moving on to the Emperor’s Children and “the sticky tape of desire”, Thousand Sons and “the eraser of change”. Uh oh, best stop there, I can already sense I’m building momentum…

  2. morvael says:

    Lovely, “moar” good books to read!

    By the way – how many books a writer can write at the same time? It seems you have a few in the pipeline at the same time. Or are they in different stages of production, and somehow that doesn’t result in conflicts? As a programmer, I’m not so fond of “context switching”, which results in valuable time lost (to forget the old and acquaint with the new). Maybe writers are more elastic? Is it easy to switch from one character to the next multiple times a day?

    • guyhaley says:

      It depends on the writer. Some write on multiple things at once, writing a bit of one project in the morning and a bit of another in the afternoon, for example (Dan Abnett works this way, for example). I’ve tried that. Others write several at once. Generally speaking, I work on one project until its finished, although I do get interrupted by urgent deadlines or returned work needing updating. Usually I’ll be reading for one project, vaguely thinking about a bunch of others, writing another, and doing something else like corrections or typing out things like this reply as well – this is important to break up my day – but in pure writing, putting-words-on-a-page terms, I prefer to work on one project. So, they’re all at different stages of production, and overlap, but don’t conflict.

      • morvael says:

        Thanks for the explanation, so I wasn’t far off the mark (at least when it comes to your modus operandi, not Dan’s). I guess it’s different for aspiring writers (or truly independent ones), where they choose what to work on and for how long, instead of the publisher and his deadlines. Isn’t that conducive to writer’s block?

      • guyhaley says:

        Do you know, I interviewed dozens writers when I was a journalist. I always asked them how they wrote. The questions and answers were for my own edification and rarely made it into the finished pieces. I was hoping to discover the secret to writing, but all I found out was that writers all have different routines.

        The only “truly independent writers” are the ones who are rich enough to faff about and work on what they please. But even they, eventually, have deadlines.

        I don’t believe in writer’s block. If I get stuck, I just grit my teeth and push on through.

        It always strikes me as funny that the richer and more successful a writer is, the more likely they are to suffer from writer’s block.

        Aspiring writers often claim to suffer from it, but for them it’s merely the fear of not being good enough. The only way to cure that (and to get better at writing) is by writing.

  3. HeritorA says:

    Guy – ty for great info. What is ‘uncanny crusade’ about – please don’t tell me it’s orcs again 😦 Beheading would be uber cool! And are you writing Ultramarines for the Horus Heresy? I don’t like them – but some guy by the name ‘Corvo’ is awesome 🙂 By the way – does you named him for Corvo from Dishonored, or is he from the old lore?

    • guyhaley says:

      No, not orks. More than than I cannot say. I’m not writing Ultramarines for the Heresy, but a number of different projects of different lengths featuring different legions.

    • guyhaley says:

      Corvo is from very, very old lore. There is a passage describing him defeating the Titan Felghast from an old Index Astartes (I think), it’s probably twenty years old!

  4. Ah great more Black Templars! Will eagerly await!

  5. morvael says:

    The book about Dante was really great. Loved the “from rags to riches” part, showing how a (specific kind of) Space Marine is made. As a side note, you made me loathe the Blood Angels even more. They are beasts trying to appear as nobles. I guess I like “my” Salamanders even more now. Would love to see your take on them.

    Waiting for the book about Perturabo now. And for your site to be updated 🙂

    • guyhaley says:

      I don’t have time to update the site any more! Too many books to write, too much childcare to do. I’m glad you liked the book though.

      • morvael says:

        I understand the problem, I have a similar one 🙂 I just worry it may bite you at some time in the future, with such site being a dead weight taking you down in the eyes of the web denizens. Sometimes it’s better to remove an outdated site altogether and replace it with a simple placeholder (for example linking to your books on Black Library, Amazon, Good Reads), than keeping a stale one showing old (outdated and thus untrue) information.

Leave a Reply

