Archive for the ‘Fiction’ Category


ghoulking-large

Aiee! Cough, hack, splutter. I’ve had flu. It has not been pleasant, and I get flu nearly every damn year. Come the pandemic, I’m screwed.

One light in the dismal netherworld of my suffering was the release of the cover for my next Dreaming Cities book, The Ghoul King. Here’s Quinn, Knight of the Angels of Atlantis, walking very carefully through the ruins of Old Columbus. And right he is to be cautious too. Why? Well, look at the title! It’s not full of kittens down there.

The first Quinn book, The Emperor’s Railroad, will be out in April. The Ghoul King follows hot on its heels in July.

This image was originally published on SF Signal alongside covers for Melissa F. Olson’s Nightshades and Willow Palecek’s City of Wolves, both also out imminently from Tor.com. Follow the link to see!

81FWmsjEISL._SL1500_

Champion of Mars still 99p/$1.50

Fyreslayer surprise

Posted: January 28, 2016 in Fiction, Gaming, The Black Library
Tags:

A couple of weeks ago the Age of Sigmar book Fyreslayers came out, including a lengthy short story of mine by the name of “The Volturung Road”. There’s a brilliant surprise I got not long after submitting the finished work that I’m going to share.

mad un

Games Workshop artist Kevin Chin enjoyed the story so much he drew this sketch of the crazed Grimwrath Bezerker Brokkengird. Cool eh? And proof if any is needed that the guys who make Warhammer up are just as mad on it as you are.


25-11-beastarises-landpageTomorrow sees the Black Library event of the year – the commencement of The Beast Arises series! In a brand new venture for BL, this galaxy-shattering story of war with the orks will be serialised across twelve parts and will be released monthly for the next year. I, your humble word goblin, have penned one as you probably know. I can reveal today that I am also writing book 12 – I get to wrap it all up! It also means I know how it ends. But I’m not talking, not for all the mushrooms in Karak Eight Peaks.

This truly does promise to be a fantastic story, detailing as it does the biggest conflict after the Horus Heresy. Don’t miss out, get your subscription today! If you order now, you’ll get all twelve parts for the price of nine.

 

unnamed-5


Hey folks, I’m appearing at the grand opening of the shiny new Warhammer Huddersfield store on December 5th. I’ll be signing, so bring your books along, I’ll also be open to chats and questions. I’ve told my warboss and the orks are gearing up for a Waaagh! If they can get their space hulk in order, I might also be playing a few games. See you there!

12285821_10153352240624685_994060984_n

 

 

 

 

 


81FWmsjEISL._SL1500_

This is a golden age for reading. Book lovers have access to masses of stories in multiple formats at excellent prices, instantly available upon purchase more often than not.

Is it a great time to be a writer though? There are those who say it is, and there are those who say that it is certainly not. As I’ve said before, the truth of it is somewhere in the middle –  easier than ever to become a writer, harder once you are to be successful. In real terms I don’t suppose the odds have changed much.

A common conception is that once you have that publishing deal, that’s that. Win! A Malibu beachhouse awaits! In reality it’s just the beginning. The hard part is getting noticed, and that is where I’ve been struggling. My original fiction has not sold satisfactorily, despite being well received. Is it my name, which is all at once weak sounding, all vowels and soft consonants, too masculine (Guy) but also confusingly feminine (Haley)? Do I choose subjects that don’t appeal? Are the plots too complex, too simple, too dull? Are the covers bad? Are the books indeed just rubbish? This latter tortures many a writer in the night, believe me.

I have a sneaking hunch it might have something to do with the fact that in the course of one month dozens of genre books are published in English alone. Your precious novel is an ant in a giant tsunami of ants bearing down on a solitary aardvark who has only recently eaten.

I try not to dwell on this too negatively, but examine what meagre information I have to plot how I can do better. That is, after all, the only way to succeed. To that end I’d like to draw your attention to the reissue of Champion of Mars, out on Kindle with a brand new cover shamelessly designed to appeal to fans of The Martian, and I have no problem with that. The unsuccessful John Carter of Mars movie probably didn’t help this book, perhaps the surefire hit The Martian will?

Better than the cover is the price, for Champion of Mars is currently available for a mere 99p, or equivalent, from Amazon (UK, US and others). If you’ve not read my original fiction Champion of Mars gives good flavour of it. I like to think it’s a pretty good novel, and I offer these reviews on Goodreads in support of my claim. There’s more about the book on this page.

If you do enjoy it, do me a favour, tell your friends and rate it online. Word of mouth remains the single best way to get noticed. If you don’t like it, I invite you to do the same. Fair’s fair.


SolaceofRageI have a new story out today. “The Solace of Rage” is the next installment of GW’s eight-episode Realmgate Wars: The Call of Archaon series. A bargain at £2.49. Roll up! Get your skulls and blood right here.